What is stronger, fear or hope?


Because Tour de France 2012 is going on, and I am an admirer of Lance Armstrong, I thought I need to write something about him.
It was some two years back; I didn’t even know that Lance Armstrong even existed, thanks to my poor GK. I had gone to a book stall to get something to read. I saw this book, “It’s not about the bike” and I just thought it might be something different than the usual novels, and I took it. And Ah! That was probably the one of the best things I have done in my life.

It’s an autobiography of a man, who survived cancer, even though he was in its last stage and after that, he made a come back – made a world record, which is yet to be broken, of winning 7 consecutive Tour de France!  Now Tour de France can be considered as world cup of football or cricket, in the cycling world! A grueling sport that continues for around 21 days and 3200 kms! Just imagine, these people are on bike for so long!!

Coming back to the book, it is really an interesting one. Before reading it, I thought it might be something like how he deals with cancer, how his family deals with it and all that. Well, it has all that but it also has much more in it, it will actually teach you to leave. It has inspired me to live a better life, as a human!  It is while reading the book, I realized, how much positive energy this Armstrong guy has! You can just feel it! He is awesome! And so is the book!!

 I request you to read it if you get a chance.   There is much to tell about the book, about Lance, but I have no right words, so here are some of the quotes, few small excerpt  from the book – let you too feel the positive vibes –

“What ever your 100% looks like, give it.”      

 “The truth is, if you ask me to choose between winning the Tour de France and cancer, I would choose cancer. Odd as it sounds, I would rather have the title of cancer survivor than winner of the Tour, because of what it has done for me as a human being, a man, a husband, a son, and a father.”      

 “The question that lingers is, how much was I a factor in my own survival, and how much was science, and how much miracle?”  

He looks handsome too!

“I don’t have the answer to that question. Other people look to me for the answer, I know. But if I could answer it, we would have the cure for cancer, and what’s more, we would fathom the true meaning of our existences. I can deliver motivation, inspiration, hope, courage, and counsel, but I can’t answer the unknowable. Personally, I don’t need to try. I ‘m content with simply being alive to enjoy the mystery.
Good Joke:  A man is caught in a flood, and as the water rises he climbs to the roof of his house and waits to be rescued. A guy in a motorboat comes by, and he says,

“Hop in, I’ll save you.”  
“No thanks,” the man on the rooftop says.
“My Lord will save me.”
 But the floodwaters keep rising. A few minutes later, a rescue plane flies overhead and the pilot drops a line.
 “No, thanks,” the man on the rooftop says. “My Lord will save me.”  
But the floodwaters rise ever higher, and finally, they overflow the roof and the man drowns.  When he gets to heaven, he confronts God.  
“My Lord, why didn’t you save me?” he implores.  
“You idiot,” God says. “I sent a boat, I sent you a plane.”  
I think in a way we are all just like the guy on the rooftop. Things take place, there is a confluence of events and circumstances, and we can’t always know their purpose, or even if there is one. But we can take responsibility for ourselves and be brave.”  

“Anyone who imagines they can work alone winds up surrounded by nothing but rivals, without companions. The fact is, no one ascends alone.”  

“Knowledge is power, community is strength and positive attitude is everything”

“What ever your 100% looks like, give it.”

Last one, on hope again –   “Hope – that is the only antidote to fear.”

He has also written its sequel – ‘Every second counts’.   It is equally inspiring. The first book tells about fighting with cancer and winning the first tour while the second book talks about rest tours he won! Do read both of them!

4 Comments to “What is stronger, fear or hope?”

  1. Interesting pieces are selected to make people read him. Thx for sharing an inspiring work. 🙂

  2. Its not about the bike – one of the best books i have read till the date…And the title of your post sounds to be a million dollar question..!

  3. whatever we feed is stronger, it can be hope or fear 🙂

    well quite nice blog post.

Leave a Reply

