Lord of the Rings


“Let us know about the heirloom ring that is passed on from woman to woman in your family, or the house you live in that has belonged to your family for generations. What’s important are the memories and people that these objects symbolize, not what they’re actually used for.”

This is what Erica said in the Weekly Writing Challenge Post.

Well, there is nothing that is passed from generations in our family. But I do have something that my friend gave to me. I call it my lucky charm. It’s the ring below –

When she gave me the ring at very first, on our third friendship day, I told her to change it and get me a blue color ring instead of red. And before she could bring the blue one, I had already realized the worth of this ring. So now, I have both of them. 😉

Whenever she is not with me and I have any important thing happening in my life, I wear the ring. I remember during my training sessions, we had tests and quiz every day. We also had practical exams. It was kind of grueling. And she wasn’t there with me 😦 But no worries. I had the ring. I wore it for 3 long months. My training went perfectly fine and I cleared all exams!

Now, she gave me another thing, a bracelet. I like it very much and do wear it often.

But I still feel, the ‘red ring’ is my lucky charm. It does not matter whether it goes with my dress or not. I am gonna wear it whenever I miss her 🙂

For me, it is power of all her wishes. The power of belief, that there is at least one person in the world who won’t leave my hand in any bad situation… Who will always wish for my good, however bad I may behave at times.

I love you my dear friend! And thanks for such a wonderful, Lucky gift!!

7 Comments to “Lord of the Rings”

  1. Sometimes the most simple gifts are the most treasured. Friendship is and should always be unconditional as is your friendship.

  2. Friendships grow specail with such small things I feel…
    Not only gifts but I even keep the text messages from the bestest friend and love to read them when I miss her… 🙂

  3. Aww this is so sweet! You’ve received very cute gifts 🙂 Friends… they are definitely the best!

  4. I got a band this season, a metal one, i chose it and my friend bought it for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

