Dystopia


This post is in response to DP’s Weekly Writing Challenge.

***

Right from the moment I woke up, I could feel the dark taint. I lounge in my bed for some time. Then I began to search… them. I groped around to feel them. Where are my….? I thought. And I thought over. Where are my what? I didn’t get the word back. Immediately after, my hands felt the two round glasses and I pulled them towards mSpectaclese and wore on my eyes. I got up, to begin my day.

As I was out of bedroom, mom wished me morning and I replied her wishing the same. I went near the wash basin, washed my face and began to search it. I couldn’t find it anywhere. Where it must have gone?? Last night, I had left it here. I asked mom, if she had seen it. First sheToothpaste-toothbrush couldn’t get what I was talking about.

“That first thing we need early in the morning??”

“Cell Phone??” She teased.

Then later, after bit of drama, she handed over me my toothbrush and toothpaste which she had kept somewhere else as she had to clean the shelf!

Fortunately or unfortunately, all my other things were on place and I didn’t have to ask anyone any favor to find them. And also, to remind myself that today is going to be a terrible day.

I left home for err… I don’t know what… and was walking down the road for catching one of… that, which I catch daily to travel. Oh God! I couldn’t remember what it is called? They were so many passing by, with all seats filled. I stretched my hand to stop them, but none of them did. By then, my daily companion, an old, stout lady came.
“Today you are in time?” She asked.Auto rickshaw
Is it a crime?? I forced a smile.

She too stretched her hand and called out – “Auto!”
Hush! Immediately one stopped. She sat and went.
At least now I know the word! I too called for an auto of course with my one hand waving in air. These auto drivers have become haughty these days. Some of them just went like that, without even looking at me. May be I should eat more and become fat like the aunty so that they can see me 😦

Finally one stopped.

“Kidhar jana hai?” He asked me where I want to go.
I gave a blank stare.
He raised his eyebrows. I continued to stare. Then he himself asked me if I want to go to railway station, because that is the last point of all autos. I replied hesitantly, “Ha, wahi to jana hai!”  That of course, I want to go to the station!

***

I just knew that wherever I am going is next to station, where the auto will halt. I got down from the auto.
“12 rupaya” 12 rupees, the driver demanded.
I gave him exact 12 and he went off on his way.

As I turned to my left, I saw a huge… something made of walls, behind tall… standing bars. Yes! I come here daily, and this were I must head too. I was about to move, when somebody slapped me on my back and before I can understand what’s happening…
college“What are you doing here?” It was her. “I told you to come at the parking lot!” She said pointing in a direction where there were ranged… those things on which only two people can sit.
“I just, forgot.”
And before I can say anything further, she began as if there isn’t going to be any cessation, pulling me through the bars, inside the walls.
We went inside a… an area surrounded by wall from four sides. There were many others already. All known faces but I couldn’t recognize them. We sat down on a… something. She hadn’t stopped yet. Or else she would have noticed.

There was a queer sensation. I know her, I know her very well. But I don’t remember her name. Should I tell her? But only if she stops! What was happening?? There was some weird feeling. As if I was not well, as if I had some disease, as if I have lost all my… I mean you understand what I have felt like I have lost…

I sat there wondering if I am going to be well. I felt like crying. But I held back my tears.
“What’s wrong??” Finally she enquired. “You look so pale.”
“I…” Before I could say anything, a lady entered in. All of us stood up. She instructed to sit and we all sat.
“Yes tell me, are you alright?” She asked again, ignoring the lady.
“No I am not. Actually I don’t…”
Once again I was interrupted by the lady. She started calling out names. One by one, people raised their hands and pulled down back.
“Jennifer D’Souza!”
And she raised her hand.
Oh! Jenny! How can I forget it!
Jenny! Jenny! Jenny! I repeated to myself.
“Yes, yes, yes… tell me?” Her face, half smiling, half worried.
I just opened my mouth and…
“Diana Juvenille!”
Jenny held my hand and raised it in the air. Then she pulled it down. She looked at me. The smiled had vanished.
“Actually, I am not able remember things.” I started. “I feel I am sick. I even forgot my name. And yours as well. And so everybody else’s around. It’s not just name. There are many other things I don’t remember.”

“What’s going on there? Jennifer?”
“Nothing m’am. Just discussing difference between RAM and ROMclassroom
“Is it? You come and sit over here. I will tell you the difference.”

Jenny turned to me “You don’t worry. Stay calm. We will talk after the lecture.”
She went near the lady and sat just in front of her, following the injunctions as if it was  daily routine.

Now, I just couldn’t control. A tear rolled off my eye. I felt more lost. I glanced around. Everyone was silent, perusing something. The lady was saying something. All of sudden everybody looked at her. Then they looked down again. This process was repeated few times, at regular interval.

I laid there, oblivion of all the things.
What are they looking down at? What is she speaking about? What are all others replying back to her? What am I doing here? What is this place? Why am I sitting here? Do I come here daily? Who is Jenny? How do I know her? And how does she know me? Why was I worried when I knew I forgot her name? Are we going to stay here forever? When is this lady gonna leave?

First the questions and then the fear of not knowing there answers engulfed me. And then, there was darkness… I could feel the things around me swallowed by darkness and I… don’t remember what happened next.

***

Somebody slapped me tightly on my face and I woke?
“What are you sleeping here? Get up!!” It was, of course Jenny. “I told you to wait at the parking lot. I was standing there for like ages!!”
It took me a minute to get back.
“Jenny, I…”
“Now don’t give me your lame excuse that you forgot!” She growled.
We were in our classroom, and I could see there, Ketty and Sammy on first bench, Ritu and Neelam on second, Rahul and Paresh sat behind us!!
“O Jenny!! I remember everything!!” I couldn’t hide the ecstasy and I hugged her tightly.
“So you do remember some things.” She gave a feint, angry look.
“You won’t believe. I had a dream. No, not a dream, a nightmare!”
“And you forgot everything in that dream”
“Yes! How do you know?”
“It can’t be a dream. You keep on forgetting everything, every time.”
“No. But in the dream, it was even more horrible!”
I wanted to tell her when, our teacher, Mrs Bakshi walked in. We all stood up and sat down as she directed.
“In the dream I even forgot our names. It was really…”
“Jennifer D’Souza!” and Jenny raised her hand.
“It was really terrible. I didn’t even remember Mrs Bakshi. And I even forgot that we come to college…”
“Diana juvenile!” Jenny raised my hand and pulled it down.
“I wish Mrs Bakshi forgot about the college too! And then what you did? You began to cry? I am sure you did!!” She mocked.
I felt a pinch of anger rising inside me, but I just ignored it as I had a story to tell! I was about to continue when…happy-face

“What’s going on there? Jennifer?”
“Nothing m’am. Just discussing difference between RAM and ROM”
“Is it? You come and sit over here. I will tell you the difference.”
Jenny turned to me “You don’t ever dare to forget me!”
She went and sat on the first bench, in front of Mrs Bakshi.

This time, I couldn’t hold my smile. I got my ‘Computer organization and Architectures’ copy on my desk and began to read as everyone else did.

***

I loved this subject ‘Dystopia’ and I am glad that I could come up with this idea. My only concern is, if I have conveyed it clearly. I have used some pictures, to assist me.  Hope you enjoyed it.

Never forget me,
Diana 🙂

8 Comments to “Dystopia”

  1. Heyyyy this is just too awesome… 🙂
    loved it all the ways….!

  2. Awesome….. Diana, u are just too awesome … 🙂

  3. Your concern – consider it very well done.

  4. Omg… my eyes were glued to my laptop screen! A great and well-told story… love those kinds of situations, dreams and deja vus… predictions…
    Anyway, I love it!

  5. hey Diana,

    This one was so expressive and in fact you made me a part of it. It was as if I was experiencing the same.. It was as if I was the Diana who had forgotten her name.
    It was simply awesome.. Initially I got confused, as it was tough to know exactly what was going on with the character but later on, you just made me to read it in one go… Lucky enough at stopping your blog… Keep going 😉

Leave a Reply

