100th COLORFUL POST!


It was afternoon of 27th March. We here in India had public holiday on the eve of Holi festival. The reason we have holiday s that the festival is celebrated, applying colors on each other. It is considered as a means to spread love, forgetting all past grievances, mistakes, misunderstandings, sorrows and believe that life is as colorful as the day.

When I was kid, I would be too excited for this day! Actually it’s not just colors but we also slash water on each other! Wow! It would be so much fun!! We would begin our preparation almost before a week! We would talk about past Holis and would make plans for the coming one. On the next day of Holi, we would compare how much the color has washed off from body. The one who has more color left is thought of as one who most fun! As if there was some competition!

But as I grew up, I stopped playing with colors. IΒ  began to look at the festival as a holiday, to take rest. The colors no more represent the liveliness of my life. Probably, I have grown up a far too much to believe in old customs that we can easily forget and forgive and move on and live life cheerfully.

Carrying this grown up belief, on 27th afternoon, I was lying on my bed. Having shampooed my hair and later conditioned to smoothen, I was to pleased with myself. I was caressing my hair lying lazily when there was a knock on the door.

I opened the door but there wasn’t anyone. I was about to check if there is anyone who knocked and moved on when… Somebody sprayed color on my face!

Burra na mano Holi hai!

“Don’t mind, it is Holi!!” Shouted my cousins!!! My two cousins, with my maternal aunts and an uncle had arrivedΒ  out of no where to our place to celebrate holi!!!

And after so many years, I don’t know how many, I celebrated Holi with colors!! Hurray!

And I don’t know when next I will be playing it again, so I purposely got us clicked!!

IMG_3158

Earlier I was bit apprehensive about my hair but later I just thought of ignoring it. Because life is indeed colorful! It is more fun in enjoying Holi with your cousins then getting a complement for smooth hair πŸ˜›

Here is a snap of my bro who joined us later. We colored him in green and guess what? He looks like the Hulk!! πŸ˜€

IMG_3204

Before I finish the post, I would like to share with you all that this was my 100th post! And I don’t think I could get more luckier but to have a post on festival of colors!

IMG_3169

Life is indeed beautiful. You just need to know how and where to apply color life brings to you! I know it is easy to say and difficult to do and all, but that’s what I am learning as I am growing up!

A belated Happy Holi to all of you!May you enjoy all the colors of your life!

Diana πŸ™‚

16 Comments to “100th COLORFUL POST!”

  1. Life is indeed beautiful. You just need to know how and where to apply color life brings to you!

    Excellent words!!

  2. Life is beautiful indeed! Awesome post! πŸ™‚

  3. My phone ran out of power before I could say this, but congrats on your 100th post! πŸ™‚

  4. Reblogged this on My story to you.. and commented:
    A wonderful message and cheerful inspiration, what’s not to love?? πŸ™‚

  5. You guys know how to celebrate life in colours. Happy Holi.

  6. colourful congratulations!

  7. Holi! That’s an awesome holiday indeed! It isn’t a public holiday here but I know many of my friends who are of Indian origin who celebrate it as you do, especially when they were children πŸ™‚
    And congrats for reaching your 100th post!

  8. Wow
    Nice blog πŸ™‚

  9. Wonderful.. And congrats for the century.. πŸ™‚

  10. Lovely post. I know its too late to say happy holi but as you are also from India then you know we Indian never leave a chance to celebrate anything. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for liking my posts & also following my blog http://www.hopeoflight.wordpress.com
    I am looking forward to read yours πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

